Skip to content

Coco Blue Pudding

March 21, 2011

The weather is getting gorgeous here, cool or cold in the mornings and perfect in the afternoons.  I’m feeling the itch of spring – my farmers’ market should be opening up soon and I’m keeping my windows open.  I find the beautiful weather motivates me:  this weekend I cleaned house, made a big batch of muffins, planted some vegetables in containers on my patio (tomatoes, peppers, and an assortment of herbs; plus a fuchsia snap dragon just for fun), and made this yummy, rummy bread pudding.

I feel like I should get a few more runs out of my oven before it gets so hot I feel like I never want to turn it on again.  I also know that with everything I have going on this week, I’m not really going to feel like cooking (that also means the next China post is still upcoming….but it is coming!).  As a foodie, spring cleaning includes emptying out my freezer, fridge, and reorganizing my pantry.  I’m a bit of a squirrel.  I could easily subsist on the groceries I have on hand in case of an emergency, like a hurricane or the zombie apocalypse, for an extended period of time.  What can I say?  I like being prepared for the impromptu culinary inspiration!  This made use of the end of a can of cream of coconut, the stale end (excuse me, rock hard.  Stale would be an improvement…) of a sliced loaf of ciabatta, the dregs of a bottle of vanilla, and the blueberries I froze at the end of last summer.  If you don’t want to use rum, just substitute more milk.

 

3 cups stale ciabatta or French bread, broken into chunks

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

¼ cup spiced rum

½ cup cream of coconut (from the drink mixer aisle)

¼ cup plus 2/3 cup skim milk

2 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

2 tbsp sweetened flaked coconut

 

1.        In  casserole dish, toss together bread and blueberries

2.       In a large liquid measuring cup, whisk together rum, coconut, milk, and vanilla.

3.       Add eggs and whisk until thoroughly combined (I used an electric mixer – one of the attachments on a new toy)

4.       Pour over top of the bread and push down with a wooden spoon so all or most of the bread is submerged.  If yours is as stale as mine was, some of it will float and that’s ok, just make sure it goes for a swim first.

5.       Sprinkle the flaked coconut over top.

6.       Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 40 minutes or until the top is golden brown and puffy and the coconut looks toasted.

7.       Serve warm or cold.

Serves 4.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

